When the final whistle blew on Borussia Dortmund’s victory in Augsburg on Saturday afternoon, there were no wild celebrations from the visitors – as there have been following their other Bundesliga victories this season. Instead, the overriding feeling was of relief. “We’re all happy to have taken all three points,” said Gonzalo Castro after Dortmund’s 

Continue Reading

A dramatic Nordderby failed to produce a winner as Hamburg and Werder Bremen played out an eventful scoreless draw at the Volksparkstion. Both sides found themselves at the wrong end of the Bundesliga table ahead of a 107th meeting in this historic fixture. Without a win in their six previous top-flight outings, Werder nonetheless started 

Continue Reading

Borussia Dortmund’s Shinji Kagawa is now the outright leading Japanese scorer in Bundesliga history thanks to his 38th strike against Augsburg. Since joining BVB from Cerezo Osako in 2010, the Japan international has now notched up 38 goals in 132 Bundesliga appearances. The 28-year-old moved level with previous record holder former Mainz and Stuttgart striker 

Continue Reading

Freiburg are still chasing their first win of the Bundesliga season as they welcome high-flying Hoffenheim to the Schwarzwald-Stadion on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 13:30CEST/11:30GMT). If Christian Streich sticks with his tried-and-tested 4-4-2, winger Yoric Ravet could slot into the attack after returning from suspension, while Lukas Kübler is a more defensive alternative to Pascal Stenzel 

Continue Reading

Cologne are still chasing their first win of the Bundesliga season as last season’s runners-up, RB Leipzig, visit the RheinEnergieStadion on Sunday (kick-off: 18:00CEST/16:00GMT). Cologne coach Peter Stöger is likely to shore up his defence against a Leipzig side who are notoriously rapid on the counter-attack, and may opt to start with a five-man backline. 

Continue Reading